Living large in Fatopia.

Na na na na, Pfffft!

Last year I did NaNoWriMo. For those that don’t know, NaNoWriMo is National Novel Writing Month. Basically, every November loads of writers around the world lose their collective minds and challenge themselves to write a 50,000 word novel in one month. Not necessarily the pretty, polished book that you, the reader, get in your hands but a nice first draft to work from for sure.

I drove myself just about bonkers last year doing NaNoWriMo. Like a lot of writers, the end of November loomed ever closer and I was way behind in my word count. I think I stayed up something like three days and nights at the end to win. Yes, I won the challenge.

Not to make light of blogging, because I take it every bit as serious, if not more so, than writing longer works, but I know I don’t have the time and resources to dedicate to NaNoWriMo this year. There is so much crap swirling around me right now that it looks like I’m sitting in the middle of a brownish-green tornado. I do still like a good challenge, however, and decided to take on Blogging 101 to improve my blogging skills this year. I mean, if you guys are going to stop by and read this stuff, the least I can do is offer you some of my mindless drivel on a regular or semi-regular basis, am I right?

NaBloPoMo_1114_465x287_badges

Then I heard about NaBloPoMo hosted by BlogHer.com. Now, I’ll admit to not knowing anything at all about this one, so I checked it out. Basically, this challenge appears to happen every month of the year, but is at its most popular in November because it coincides with NaNoWriMo. The challenge is to post a new blog post each day for the month of November (or whatever month you’re taking part in).

Ladies and gentlemen, I am taking part in NaBloPoMo and Blogging 101. Why am I telling you this? To make an honest woman of myself. I figure if the whole world knows I’m doing it then maybe, just maybe, I’ll be so afraid of embarrassing myself that I’ll stick with it. Am I hoping it will be easier than NaNoWriMo? In a word, yes. Not that I think blogging is easier than novel writing in general. I just don’t think I have the Great American Novel in me right now, so maybe writing shorter pieces will be easier for me. Or coming up with 30 different subjects will finally drive me off the deep end, I’m not sure.

Better check to see if I got my Xanax refilled or not.

Talk to me. I don't bite ... too hard ;-)

Tag Cloud

Alabama's Source for Local Coverage You Can Count On

Breaking local news, weather, traffic and sports coverage

The Heroine's Journey

You are the Storyteller of your own Life. You can create your own legend, or Not!

Letters to the Mind

Writing to our mental health issues one word at a time

Lucidity Publishing

Mary Blowers, Author: Book Reviews and Freelance Writing Blog

fittymac

Life past, present and future

Indies Unlimited

Celebrating Independent Authors

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

Simple Living Over 50

Defining Life's Changes

danseur ignoble

through flailing we reach transcendence ... or something like that

unconditionallyu

Attracting exactly what you want using the Law of Attraction

SingleMotherAhoy

The Highs and Lows of Being a Lone Parent

I am not Fibromyalgia

Overcome the Label, Live an Active Productive Life!

razorbackwriteraus

In the sea of dreams.

Memee's Musings

Thoughts about life, death, and the world around me.

Feeisms

The thoughts of Fee

Blooms and Bubbles

(it's still East Meets Breast...)

Uncle Spike's Adventures

Opinion, photography & travel blogging from a small rural farm in Türkiye

The Curmudgeonly Librarian

Pithy Insights from a Experienced Old Coot

