Living large in Fatopia.

Who Am I? Why Am I Here?

As I said in an earlier post, I’m taking part in Blogging 101 and NaBloPoMo this month. Today is the first official day of Blogging 101 with our first assignment, task, suggestion, prompt, what have you, being to write a post about who we are and why we’re here. In the bloggersphere that is. If I had to sit here and decide who I am and why I’m here in real life, I’d still be sitting here gaping at the screen with drool dripping from my chin when everyone else wakes up in a few hours. Yeah, that’s how well I know myself.

I’m here because I like to write. I’ve tried my hand at writing a book, a novella, even a few short stories with the help of friends mind you, and I can’t do it. I mean, I probably could if I stuck with it, but my life doesn’t allow for that kind of dedication to my own writing. I’m fooling myself into thinking that writing a blog will be easier because it will be smaller works and therefore should be easier. However, for a blog to be successful, and since I am a perfectionist control freak everything I do, including this blog must be successful, I’ll have to post daily, which means at least seven separate and fresh topics a week. Um, yeah, real easy, she thought as she face palmed herself.

I’m a mom of three boys and one girl, three of which are grown but still need their mother’s attention from time to time (and I secretly love it!) and wife to a wonderful man who just happens to have become my friend some 39 years ago and we were lucky enough to end up together forever. I’m a first-time grandmother to a four-month-old Princess Fussy Pants, Ms. Shelby. She’s Granny’s Baby and will appear on the blog from time to time. I’m having to stop myself from posting every picture I get of her on here. She’s my heart.cropped-cropped-black-and-white-me-e13990880701153.jpg

I’m the Original Fat Chick. I go 550+ pounds. I am loud and I am proud and I am beautiful just the way I am. I know I look like this, I really do. I own a mirror, more than one actually. And yes, these legs are actually holding me up as I’m walking toward you. Jabba the Hut can motivate on occasion. No, I did not eat shellfish last night and blow up like this while I slept. It took time for me to get this big and it will take  time to lose the weight too. And I will, at my own pace in my own time. So please, stop looking at me like I’m invading your happy place just by breathing the same air you do when I leave my house. Thanks so much and have a nice day.

I try to handle most things in my life with humor, but there are things that tend to piss me off, and when they do I let the whole world know about it. So, I’m a fat chick with a laptop, an attitude, and an internet connection, and I’m not afraid to use ‘em.

I was once told to write what I know. Well, at the end of the day when the chips are down, I definitely know me, so I’m going to write about me. My thoughts, things that happen to me, stuff I know, whatever interests me. The rest of the world is welcome to join me on the ride, but I write for myself. If others like it too, well, that’s just gravy on the side of the grits and eggs. It’s not the years, it’s the mileage, and I’ve put a lot of miles on this body in 42 years. I’ve learned a lot along the way, and I’m not afraid to share my knowledge. Yep, I‘m another one of them.

I reckon that’s about it. As for narrowing down what this blog is about, well, we’ll just have to wait and see what she grows up to be. Right now she’s just a baby who can’t even walk or talk on her own yet. Hopefully, at the end of the month and the Blogging 101 class, I’ll know enough to have her up and moving and sharing her own personality by the end of the month or the end of the year for sure. Stay tuned.

 

Comments on: "Who Am I? Why Am I Here?" (4)

  1. Welcome to the blogosphere, dysfunctional though it may be.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank you for the welcome. I hope to help put the fun in dysFUNctional 😀

    Like

Talk to me. I don't bite ... too hard ;-)

The Heroine's Journey

You are the Storyteller of Your Own Life. Create Your Own Legend - or Not!

The Pro Book Editor

Editing & Proofreading Services

Letters to the Mind

Writing to our mental health issues one word at a time

fittymac

Life past, present and future

Indies Unlimited

Celebrating Independent Authors

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

danseur ignoble

"great" would be great, but I'll take "serviceable"

unconditionallyu

Attracting exactly what you want using the Law of Attraction

SingleMotherAhoy

The Highs and Lows of Being a Lone Parent

I am not Fibromyalgia

Overcome the Label, Live an Active Productive Life!

razorbackwriteraus

In the sea of dreams.

Memee's Musings

Thoughts about life, death, and the world around me.

Feeisms

it's what she said...

Blooms and Bubbles

(it's still East Meets Breast...)

Uncle Spike's Adventures

Opinion, photography & travel blogging from a small rural farm in Türkiye

The Curmudgeonly Librarian

Pithy Insights from a Experienced Old Coot

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

evelynralph

Evelyn's Blog

LucentSea

Short reads on the mixed tides of human nature.