Living large in Fatopia.

This Thursday morning finds me sitting alone in Fatopia thinking about the small things in life. There won’t be a lot of cutesy pictures with this one because I’m fighting the mighty migraine monster this morning, and despite my best efforts at being pharmaceutically enhanced, he’s still getting the upper hand.

What are you thankful for?

I am thankful that God has brought me and my family to another Thankful Thursday post. That means we’ve made it through at least another week, maybe even more. My God has put a lot on my shoulders lately… NaNa FatChick is having some health issues, Brother FatChick is having health issues, and Mr. FatChick’s health insurance is all kinds of messed up and costing us money we don’t have for things that we know are covered. PawPaw FatChick is doing the best he can to hang in there like a rusty fish hook and not let the rest of us know what’s going on with him, but he’s having some issues of his own on top of trying to deal with everything else. And me… I’m thankful that I have the knowledge that if God sees me to it He’ll see me through it. All I have to do is keep the faith.

I’ll admit that keeping the faith can be hard at times, especially when it feels like you’re getting hit with something new from all sides every time you turn around, but that’s what faith is. Belief is knowing there’s a God up there. Faith is knowing He’s got this and all I have to do is let Him do His thing. He’s the One who made the plan. All I have to do is stay out of His way and let Him work it through. For a control freak like me, that’s not an easy thing to do. Maybe that’s part of why all of this is happening, to teach me some patience.

226I’m thankful for little girls learning to pull up in their cribs in the middle of the night after their mom’s have fed them ice cream and brownies. Shelby is seven months old now and pulled up all by herself for the first time the other night, and her mom snapped her picture. Doesn’t she look proud of herself? You can tell she may not have known exactly what she did, but she knew she did something right, and she’s proud as peaches of herself to boot!

No, that’s not a mouthful of teeth just yet. Her mom said she doesn’t know what showed up white inside her mouth like that, but she does have her first tooth on the bottom left in the front now. It won’t be long and she’ll be eating everything in sight. I keep telling them she’s a fat chick in training, but they won’t listen. Seems like they’d trust The Original Fat Chick’s opinion on this one. Mark my words, fat chick in training.

216I’m thankful for little boys running around and flirting with you, but never quite letting you love all over them the way you really want to when you want to. This is my grandson Kason, and he is like the Energizer Bunny on speed. He keeps going and going and going and going. The thing about him having all that energy is that he’s on the run most of the time. This means that he lets me love on him on his time and not mine, when he wants to stop for a minute and be loved on. That makes those loving moments all the more precious in my book, because they are fewer and further between and I have to wait just a little bit longer for them even if he’s right here in front of me.

Why are there more pictures on my blog of Shelby than Kason? Have you ever tried to snap a picture of a shooting star? How about a hummingbird in flight? That’s about what it’s like trying to get a picture of Kason. But again, it makes them mean that much more to me because they are fewer and further between. Oh, I have his mother’s permission to clip pics from her Facebook timeline and post them here, but it’s just not the same. I like to use my own pictures that I’ve taken. Maybe I’m just an old fart, but that’s just me.

0116151259I’m thankful for blueberry yogurt. When I haven’t been able to eat anything else, for whatever reason, I’ve been able to eat blueberry yogurt and it’s sticking with me. What is one of my least favorite flavors of yogurt in the world? You guess it, blueberry. But you know what? I don’t really care as long as it works. So long live blueberry yogurt (although some peach would be nice every now and then guys, hint hint).

 

Hot FlashI’m thankful menopause doesn’t last forever, although right now it feels like it will. I’m thankful to know my mother and many more women before me have lived through it, and that means that I will too. However, when I’m sitting up all alone in the middle of the night in Fatopia with sweat rolling off me for no reason other than it can in the middle of winter, well, it makes me wonder if I will survive or not. If you ask me, it should be called Mean-o-pause because I feel like ripping people’s heads off and shoving them up their butts, almost every time someone speaks to me my feelings get hurt in some way, and I just want to go to my room and close the door and tell the world to come back when it’s over.

I’m always thankful for a family that tries to understand me as best they can because I don’t think it’s possible for anyone to truly understand me. I’m thankful to God for always loving me and having my back (front and sides too). I think right now I might be most thankful for being too hardheaded to know when to stop and take care of myself first. If I did, I’d probably take the rest of the day off and go back to bed.

What are you thankful for?

What are you thankful for? Please share what you’re thankful for in the comments below.

 

Talk to me. I don't bite ... too hard ;-)

Tag Cloud

Alabama's Source for Local Coverage You Can Count On

Breaking local news, weather, traffic and sports coverage

The Heroine's Journey

You are the Storyteller of your own Life. You can create your own legend, or Not!

Letters to the Mind

Writing to our mental health issues one word at a time

Lucidity Publishing

Mary Blowers, Author: Book Reviews and Freelance Writing Blog

fittymac

Life past, present and future

The Lithium Chronicles

A Collection of Madness and Magic

Indies Unlimited

Celebrating Independent Authors

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

Simple Living Over 50

Defining Life's Changes

danseur ignoble

through flailing we reach transcendence ... or something like that

unconditionallyu

Attracting exactly what you want using the Law of Attraction

SingleMotherAhoy

The Highs and Lows of Being a Lone Parent

I am not Fibromyalgia

Overcome the Label, Live an Active Productive Life!

razorbackwriteraus

In the sea of dreams.

Memee's Musings

Thoughts about life, death, and the world around me.

Feeisms

The thoughts of Fee

Blooms and Bubbles

(it's still East Meets Breast...)

Uncle Spike's Adventures

Opinion, photography & travel blogging from a small rural farm in Türkiye

The Curmudgeonly Librarian

Pithy Insights from a Experienced Old Coot

