Living large in Fatopia.

This Thankful Thursday post is going up late because, frankly, I’m having a hard time finding a whole lot to be thankful for. A dear friend’s wife lost her battle with cancer and was laid to rest recently then he got even more bad news about someone he cares about. It’s enough to make one wonder why God puts so much bad stuff on such good people. Then I think about it and remember that God always gets credit for the bad things that happen in the world when they’re not all his fault. A large part of it, if you ask me at least, is the work of evil trying to turn us away from God by getting us to blame Him for the bad stuff, and for the most part, it works like a charm.

Oh, there are other things going on around me and in my life that are making it kind of hard to be grateful for a whole lot right now. Then I stop and look around and realize I have a roof over my head, a floor under my feet, and walls around me, all of which are keeping the cold out. I have heat and power and water. I’m wearing clean clothes, and although I’m sick with the latest creeping crud making the rounds, I have something between my belly and backbone, and that’s more than a lot of people can say tonight.

I’m ill as a hornet because I don’t feel good, but these Thankful Thursday posts are really good for me. It turns out I have a lot more to be thankful for than I even realized before I started writing this post. Sorry it doesn’t have the cute little pictures the others have in them, but I’m just not up to digging around to find any right now. I think I feel a nap coming on sooner than later no matter if I want one or not, so I’ll say good night and call it a day. Maybe I won’t be so ill tomorrow. Fingers and toes crossed anyway.

What are you thankful for? Please share in the comments. Maybe it will make me feel better to see what others are thankful for today and every day.

What are you thankful for?

Comments on: "Sometimes It’s Hard To Be Thankful Even If It’s Thursday" (2)

  1. Crystal, so sorry for the loss of your friend. I’ll keep you and your widower friend in my prayers today. {hug}

    Like

Talk to me. I don't bite ... too hard ;-)

Tag Cloud

Alabama's Source for Local Coverage You Can Count On

Breaking local news, weather, traffic and sports coverage

The Heroine's Journey

You are the Storyteller of your own Life. You can create your own legend, or Not!

Letters to the Mind

Writing to our mental health issues one word at a time

Lucidity Publishing

Mary Blowers, Author: Book Reviews and Freelance Writing Blog

fittymac

Life past, present and future

The Lithium Chronicles

Where art and mental illness collide

Indies Unlimited

Celebrating Independent Authors

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

Simple Living Over 50

Defining Life's Changes

danseur ignoble

through flailing we reach transcendence ... or something like that

unconditionallyu

Attracting exactly what you want using the Law of Attraction

SingleMotherAhoy

The Highs and Lows of Being a Lone Parent

I am not Fibromyalgia

Overcome the Label, Live an Active Productive Life!

razorbackwriteraus

In the sea of dreams.

Memee's Musings

Thoughts about life, death, and the world around me.

Feeisms

The thoughts of Fee

Blooms and Bubbles

(it's still East Meets Breast...)

Uncle Spike's Adventures

Opinion, photography & travel blogging from a small rural farm in Türkiye

The Curmudgeonly Librarian

Pithy Insights from a Experienced Old Coot

